Negative emotions like loneliness, envy, and guilt have an important role to play in a happy life; they’re big, flashing signs that something needs to change.

It’s hard to believe that human’s have been in existence for an estimated 2 million years, yet we still know so little about the inner workings of the mind.  And our mind is everything.  It’s full of creativity, innovation, love, and countless other amazing things that drive human beings on a daily basis.  It’s such an amazing factor, yet the understanding of it seems elementary at best.  And sometimes it almost feels like the more we know about the mind, the more confusing things get.  Think about this: essentially every act we commit each day is driven by some type of human emotion.  Every laugh, every frown, every kiss; all stem from a part of the brain we can’t even begin to comprehend.  And emotions are extremely powerful, they truly are.  Emotions cause us to act out in ways we might not even want to, they cause us to lose control of ourselves.  Think about how many crimes are committed as an act of passion, stemming from some raw human emotion.

I think the best thing we can do is embrace our emotions, learn to accept them, and learn to control them.  But not control in a restrictive way, just learn that they are there, and they will always be there.  Accept them for what they are, don’t freak out and get caught up in knee-jerk reactions.  This is something I’ve always struggled with.  I wear both my thoughts and emotions on my sleeve, when something isn’t right with me, it will be obvious to anyone who knows me.  I often find myself freaking out in certain situations, or breaking down emotionally when I’m hurting inside.  This isn’t really the way I want to be; on one hand it’s very “honest” I guess you could say, but on the other hand it makes me a nervous wreck at times, as well as a liability to those close to me.

So, in an effort to strengthen myself mentally, I have to learn to corral these emotions.  I have to keep them in check, and prevent them from taking control of my actions.  Now of course, sometimes letting yourself “go” is an amazing thing, when the emotion that has you elated is a positive one.  But life is too short to be stuck on a negative plane.  Harnessing the good, and filtering the bad is key.  Bring as much positivity into our lives as we can, and hopefully that will emanate to those around you.  No one wants to be thought of as a Debbie Downer, right?  Because emotions can be contagious, be sure you spread the right ones.

