Music has been a huge part of my life for as long as I can remember.  I have seen baby pictures of myself wearing headphones before I could even walk.  My parents both listened to music quite extensively and I picked up on that same passion at an early age.  All though I didn’t really listen to the same music that my peers were listening to.  Of course I would be lying if I said I didn’t get down with O.P.P.  And yeah, at one point I wished that I had a pair of parachute pants and could bust a move like Hammer.  But for the most part, I discovered my own music, I didn’t just follow along with everyone else in that regard.  I listened to local rock radio stations, like 100.5 The Fox out of Louisville, KY.  And made my own choices as far as what music I liked.

Early on it was all about the grunge and “post-grunge” movement of the early-to-mid 90’s.  Alice in Chains, Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, and Nirvana.  Then later, with post-grunge, you had:  Bush, Seven Mary Three, Live, and Silverchair.  After that I started to discover heavy metal, it started off lightly with modern nu-metal acts of the late 2000’s like KoRn.  But then I started delving deeper in and going back to the classics, 80’s heavy metal is one of my absolute favorite things to listen to.  And I’m not necessarily talking about Motley Crue or the Scorpions either; all though those are good bands.  I’m thinking more like Grim Reaper, Metal Church, and Queensryche.

From that point I went even farther back, discovering rock’s roots and getting big into classic rock of the 60’s and 70’s, some even older than that.  I started just listening to everything around this period of my life(a couple years out of high school,) from country to rap, from folk to heavy metal.  I truly developed a huge appreciation for all forms of music, and try to keep an open mind to this day about it.  I also began playing music somewhere along the way.

I have played in a couple of different extreme heavy metal bands on electric guitar, but never anything too serious.  Here is a band I played in, though I’m not present here, these are mostly my songs(for better or worse.)  I also love playing the acoustic guitar. My next plan is to get a small percussion set up and learn to play a primitive drum set.  My hope is that one day I can create my own music from scratch(most likely some sort of dark, acoustic folk.)  Not being able to sing might hinder that some what, but I’ll either suck it up and do it myself or outsource it to someone who can.

 


 

Pearl Jam – Elderly Woman Behind the Counter In a Small Town

I seem to recognize your face
Haunting familiar yet, I can’t seem to place it
Cannot find a candle of thought, to light your name
Lifetimes are catching up with me
All these changes taking place
I wish I’d seen the place
But no one’s ever taken me
Hearts and thoughts they fade, fade away

Pink Floyd – Echoes

Strangers passing in the street
By chance two separate glances meet
And I am you, and what I see is me
And do I take you by the hand?
And lead you through the land
And help me understand the best I can

No one calls us to move on
And no one forces down our eyes
No one speaks, and no one tries
No one flies around the sun

Hozier – Take Me to Church

Take me to church
I’ll worship like a dog at the shrine of your lies
I’ll tell you my sins and you can sharpen your knife
Offer me that deathless death
Good god, let me give you my life

Black Sabbath – Children of the Sea

In the misty morning, on the edge of time
We’ve lost the rising sun, the final sign
As the misty morning, rolls away to die
Reaching for the stars, we blind the sky

We sailed across the sea, before we learned to fly
We thought that it could never end
We’d glide above the ground, before we learned to run
Now it seems our world has come undone

Oh they say that it’s over
And it just had to be
Oh they say that it’s over
We’re lost children of the sea

Opeth – Harvest

Into the orchard I walk peering way past the gate
Wilted scenes for us who couldn’t wait
Drained by the coldest caress stalking shadows ahead
Halo of death all I see is departure
Mourners lament, but it’s me who’s the martyr

